Before adding a user to a Chat Channel, first ensure you've created a Chat Channel. All Chat Channel help articles can be found here.
How to add users to a Chat Channel
User can only be added to Chat Channel if there have the appropriate Chat Channels permission enabled. Here are where guides can be found on how to update a individual users permission and update a permission via a group.
Contacts cannot be added to Chat Channel only users can.
Here are the steps needed yo be taken to add a user to a Chat Channel and notify them.
- Create or view a Chat Channel, you will be taken to the Channel Summary page.
- Press the '+ Add Members' button.
- Select users from the modal box by checking the check boxes next to the users names. Users can be filtered by 'all users' with Chat Channel permissions enabled OR by selecting the 'Groups' button which will display users from within the selected group who have Chat Channel permissions enabled.
- Once users are selected there two different add mechanisms 'Bulk Add +' and 'Bulk Add + & Send Notifications'. The first will simply add the users to the Chat Channel and the latter will add the users and notify the users that there have been added to a Chat Channel. The user will get the notifications via SMS, email and Push Notification (if logged into the Chat Channel app). Note: If 'Bulk Add +' option has been used, notifications can still be sent to users by using the 'Send Notifications' buttons within the Actions section of the Channel Summary page.
How to remove a user from Chat Channel
Here are the steps taken to remove a user to Chat Channel.
- Go to 'Communications' > 'Chat Channels'
- Select the 'View Details' button for the Channel you wish to remove the user from.
- Find the user within the Members table and press the 'Remove' button.
The user will have been removed the chat channel and will no longer be able to access it.